The Big Bang Science Fair

Thea modelling our beautiful "I love biology" T-shirts!

Yesterday I helped out on the Society of Biology’s stand at the Big Bang Fair at London’s ICC ExCeL. The fair is the biggest of its kind, designed to inspire young people about science and engineering. I spent the day talking to children aged 6 to 18 about studying biology, possible careers and just generally trying to demonstrate what biology is all about. It was great to see kids so enthusiastic about biology and we had a wall entitled “I like biology because…” where they could post up why they think it’s great. There were some interesting answers, ranging from the witty, “I love my designer genes,” to the classic, “I love dogs/cats/dolphins.” “I love blood” was a slightly concerning response- aspiring vampires seemed to be among the budding scientists and engineers. I blame the Twilight movies!

Yesterday marked the start of National Science and Engineering week, for more information check out the website here.

The Society of Biology stand

One of the amazing flying penguins!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

